Client Reviews

Swimmer Reborn IconSwimmer Reborn

David Lloyd Acton Park, East Acton Lane, London

5.0 24 reviews

  • Avatar Phillip Killicoat ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Highly recommended. My video analysis session with Julian identified 2 actionable corrections. This immediately improved my connection through the pull. Free speed.
  • Avatar James Thomlinson ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    Julian is a fantastic coach that gets results! He is relaxed, knowledgeable and straight-talking. I initially worked with him to improve my technique to fix a shoulder problem and make me faster. Within 8 weeks the improvement was significant … More and we are continuing to work together to get even better. Highly recommended.
  • Avatar Kay Bryson ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    I really loved my video analysis session with Julian! He was extremely knowledgable and very particular which works with what I wanted to get out of the session. I am a visual learner and found seeing my own stoke at different speeds on … More the screen after, and comparing to other strokes of high level swimmers, was extremely useful. I also valued how he looked at me as a whole athlete rather than just taking it as one stroke technique session. He took a genuine interest in the whole story which helped him better advise me on how to improve my swimming in multiple ways. I would highly recommend!
  • Avatar Vicki Hill ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    If you want to take your swimming to the next level and beyond then Julian is your man. I first met Julian for a swim analysis in 2018 when I started working with him as my triathlon coach. During that first analysis I was immediately struck … More by his wealth of knowledge, professionalism and how passionate he is.
    I thought I was a terrible swimmer but he soon had me believing (and my results quickly began to show) that was not the case. Through the work I have done with Julian in the pool and the swim sets that he gives me, I have seen my swim go from strength to strength. As a result, these swim PB’s have helped me to win my AG in several Ironmans as well as finishing 8th in my category in the Hawaii IM World Championships.
    Julian really focuses on you as an individual and he helps you to understand where you need to make improvements, and how you are going to make that happen. Julian is very approachable and has a great sense of humour, so whilst making you work hard you will have fun too! Five years on we are still going strong and I continue to make improvements in my swim. Choosing to work with Julian has been one of my life’s best decisions. He is a fabulous coach, mentor and great guy!
  • Avatar Susannah Fox ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    On behalf of Sami Robertson:
    I’ve known Julian since 2016 when he helped me train for the straits of Gibraltar and later for Lake Zurich in 2019. He’s recently helped me in my training for the GB Ice championships. All three swims have
    … More required different skills and training but he understands me as an athlete and a person and this is the key difference between Julian and other coaches I have met. He takes a holistic approach - everything is tailored, everything is bespoke and that’s what sets him worlds apart. I can’t recommend him enough - he’s a one off!
    Thanks Coach for everything.
  • Avatar Charlotte Drummond ★★★★★ 4 weeks ago
    I have had 3 swim video analysis sessions with Julian. It goes without saying that he knows his stuff about swimming! In 3 years he has taken me from a ~40 min half Ironman swim to 33 mins. He’s also taught me to enjoy swimming rather than … More viewing it as something to get through before the bike and run!
    I am always impressed my his professionalism; referring back to my swim videos from 3 years ago to analyse how I’ve improved and what we can tweak next. The analysis session itself isn’t as stressful as I thought it would be (!) and the facilities from where Julian works are lovely. I strongly encourage anyone struggling with their swimming or wanting to get faster to see Julian for a video analysis session.
  • Avatar Philippa Paxman ★★★★★ a month ago
    I came to Julian as someone who's swimming ability had really plateaued. I hadn't had a swimming coach since I was 15 years old (over 10 years ago) and was quite nervous to get in the pool and have someone judge my technique. … More I really had nothing to worry about, Julian made me feel so at ease - he was so friendly and welcoming, plus everyone at the leisure centre gave him a wave, which is always a good sign!We had a one off swim session and went through video analysis of my own stroke, looked at other professional athletes and spoke about different ways of training. I have never learnt so much in such a short space of time and my confidence in the pool really improved! I had recently recovered from covid before my session and Julian gave me some great advice and some sessions to help me gradually build my fitness back up. I've totally fallen back in love with swimming and have seen such an improvement in my times too!Would highly recommend! Thank you Julian!
  • Avatar Louise Scott ★★★★★ a month ago
    Julian’s video analysis sessions were really transformative for my swimming. I really felt that I was in expert hands. The video analysis allowed me to clearly see where my technique needed work (I was totally unaware of some of the things … More I was doing that, once corrected, made a real difference to my stroke).His passion and knowledge for his work really comes through in the level and detail of feedback he gives, and it is all personally tailored. By the time I returned for a follow up session, my 400m time had substantially improved.I would highly recommend these sessions if you want to take your swimming to the next level.
  • Avatar Sam Kelly ★★★★★ a month ago
    Julian is an absolutely incredible teacher. I had two swim analysis session with Julian, one initial and a follow up. He wrote me a program after both sessions with drills specific to my technique gaps which helped me prepare for my first … More ever Ironman. I went from barely being able to swim 200m front crawl to finishing my Ironman! But Julian was so much more than an insightful swim coach, he helped me understand how my personality affected my swimming and these lessons have applied across all areas of my life. I’m going back for a third session soon and would recommend Julian to anyone.
  • Avatar Louise Hutchinson ★★★★★ a month ago
    My session with Julian not only helped me see how I could improve my swimming physically with my body position and technique but also helped me with my mental attitude to swimming. I was preparing for various triathlons and Julian helped … More me understand more about how important your feel for the water is and also how to approach the swim in the context of the whole race.
  • Avatar Mark Richards ★★★★★ a month ago
    I have had a few one-to-one swim development sessions with Julian, making use of the 3D video analysis that he does. Each time I have been delighted with the outcome, and am always very impressed with the care and attention to detail that … More Julian dedicates to each of them.If you are looking to make gains, at any level, I can highly recommend an assessment session with Julian, including the video analysis as part of it.Thank you Julian, and I'm looking forward to the next session.
  • Avatar Nicola Murray-Smith ★★★★★ a month ago
    I've been swimming in Julian's squads for more than 7 years and I love it. It helps me to maintain fitness while doing something social. I always finish the sessions feeling great, regardless of how I felt at the start!I decided … More I wanted to swim Lake Windermere (11 miles) in 2022. It was a lot longer than the previous swims I'd done and without tidal assistance! Julian was fantastic. He gave me the confidence and encouragement to believe I could do it and coached me with a flexible programme. This changed each week to work around my long work hours and family commitments. He advised me on non-swimming training to look after my body, to avoid injury and to promote recovery.I would really recommend Julian to anyone taking on a big challenge. He will keep you calm and focussed, giving you a realistic and achievable training programme based around your lifestyle.
  • Avatar Mark Ivens ★★★★★ a month ago
    I have been seeing Julian every few months for several years now.I had been to other video analysis sessions over the years before meeting Julian and everything was better. This included the quality of the video itself, the analysis, the … More instant feedback by getting straight back into the pool to work on improvements and a great programme to work on tailored to the particular distances I swim and the other training that I do.Julian is brilliant in identifying what is truly important and what is cause and what is effect and cuts through all the irrelevant stuff.He's also been a great source of encouragement and advice for me and helped me when I've had shoulder or back problems that have affected my swimming.I can't recommend him enough.
  • Avatar Angus Pollard ★★★★★ a month ago
    I originally met Julian at a swim session whereby I saw myself as a weak swimmer. The session was fantastic and after 6 months I came back to him and asked him to coach me. Before meeting Julian I was driven but lost in a world of mixed … More messaging and lack of clarity on how I should approach training. I was grinding myself into the floor without an understanding of purpose or intention. Since having Julian as my coach he’s helped me drop all (incorrect) prior beliefs and has been there unconditionally to support me both with my training and how my wider life impacts it. To train for a sport as time consuming as this, I’ve found it crucial to have someone who can be there not just to improve your results but also help maintain a healthy mentality.I couldn’t recommend him highly enough to anyone of any ability.
  • Avatar David Brown ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Julian didn’t just help me reduce my swim time by over 20% ! As an indirect consequence of his swim coaching my distance and speeds across all 3 triathlon disciplines have improved. I recommend Julian whenever I can. Just don’t expect him … More to sugar coat anything for you…his experience works!
  • Avatar Katrina Davison ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    When I met Julian I was a very poor swimmer - I wasn't capable of much more than a few slow lengths and felt that swimming just wasn't for me but I wanted to improve somehow. Coaching with Julian completely transformed my stroke … More and it instilled a newfound love of swimming that I am so grateful to now have. Julian has an amazing ability to fully understand the people that he coaches and tailors his style/recommendations accordingly to make sure that you are set up for success and enjoy the journey along the way. Even if you have a lot to fix, he will never overwhelm you and will focus on what will make the biggest difference. I've since had follow up sessions with Julian to refine my stroke and swimming fitness further - I'm so thankful to him for how far I've come and everything that he's taught me. I would never have expected to be now entering swimming races and planning triathlons in the future. Thank you Julian, 100% would recommend!
  • Avatar Helen Kemmitt ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    When I started to train with Julian I struggled to swim more than a few lengths of front crawl. Within a short time my stroke had improved and I was able to build up my distance in the pool. Several years later, I am still swimming in … More Julian's squads and I have completed several 10 km open water swims. He is an excellent coach.
  • Avatar Nic Cooper ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Julian Nagi is an inspirational coach, who has helped me develop from a virtual non swimmer, to participating in triathlons. Julian is one of those special coaches whose skill transcends technical instruction, he does that incredibly well, … More but where he really becomes a force for good is in his understanding of the individual athlete, where their strengths and weaknesses are, and psychologically what makes them tick. That's the stuff that helped me in my journey to become a much better swimmer, knowing how far I could push myself and also as importantly when not too.His swim squads are the highlight of my week, well organised, fun, educational and physically challenging. You only have to be poolside just to see how much he is appreciated by his squad members. The sense of teamwork and cooperation he engenders, no matter whether you are in the slow lane or an athlete in the fast lane competing at an international level, he inspires us all. Viva Julian!
  • Avatar Aaron Brooks ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Julian is an incredible coach. I had swam most of my life but it had been a long time since I had a coach so a few bad habits had crept in with regards to my stroke. Julian ironed out my kinks and I am swimming better than ever. He has … More also built an amazing squad team with an incredible culture. Couldn't recommend his services highly enough.
  • Avatar Jane Stafford ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I came to see Julian not as a beginner swimmer but as someone looking to improve my technique and speed in preparation for an upcoming Ironman.
    Julian straight away put me at ease and after reviewing my video analysis pin pointed some
    … More areas with which I could tweak to improve my swim.
    I have been concentrating on these areas and am now swimming faster, with more fluency and with a greater understanding of my body moving through the water.
    I would thoroughly recommend Julian as a swim coach for all standards of swimmers.
  • Avatar Jack Healy ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Julian is a great coach and would highly recommend to anyone. He enabled me to enjoy swimming for the first time in years!
    During his sessions, his attention to detail and expert knowledge is second to none. As a coach he understands you
    … More as a person and supplies tailored guidance and always explains the WHY. The information is delivered in a clear and concise manner - explaining complex processes in a digestible and interactive way. Also, he provides a clear plan after the session which I found extremely helpful.
    Top experience!
  • Avatar Carmen Prem ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Julian’s is incredibly good at what he’s doing. His enthusiasm and love for swimming rubs off instantly when you first meet him. You have an introductory chat and then off you go doing a little warm up followed by under water video work. … More
    How excellent Julian is at coaching becomes instantly clear when you start working together after the video part. It’s not only the technical advice, it’s his listening skills, years and years of experience, continuous development, and insight into the body and soul of each swimmer that make him so unique. We only subtly changed my stroke but it made me so much faster and overall healthier as I am now putting less burden on my neck and shoulders which previously caused some musculoskeletal issues. He knew exactly what needed to be (ever so slightly) tweaked in order to even out my stroke. Working with him made a huge difference to my swim experience and overall well-being for which I am ever so grateful.
    The location is a lovely, peaceful (heated) outdoor pool where I had a lane on my own for the lesson.
    I thoroughly recommend Julian’s analysis session to everyone who wishes to work on their stroke, speed or endurance. He is the best coach I have ever worked with!
  • Avatar Rohan Crouse ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Julian started helping me with long distance swimming plans and stroke correction about 3 years ago.
    I found the video analysis particularly helpful and learnt something new after every session. After every assessment Julian develops
    … More and adapts my program based on how I progressed and based on specific areas of focus needed for the next block. He has extensive coaching experience and that really shows in the way he coaches me both physically and mentally to achieve my goals.
    Since starting with Julian I have completed a series of open water 10km swim events and most recently hit my target of 7 hours in a 21km lake swim event. We are currently working on getting me ready for a 42km swim in the summer of 2023.
  • Avatar teresa walton ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    Having a video analysis with Julian was a transformative experience and a great investment in my swimming.
    He is extremely knowledgeable, a great teacher, and was able to clearly show me where I needed to improve my stroke technique.
    He
    … More gave me drills (which we practiced) and a programme so I could continue to work on improvement after the session.
    The result was better technique and more speed!
    I highly recommend his service to anyone looking to improve their swimming whatever level they may be…